Home Page


The local governing body has a range of duties and powers in school with an overall aim of helping Grove to become an outstanding centre of learning. Its responsibilities include setting targets for pupil achievement, managing finances, monitoring the curriculum, appointing staff, and reviewing staff performance and pay.

We have two committees: personnel, and premises and finance. These all meet once a term. We also hold a full governors meeting every half term.


Our Governors are:

Mr Stephen Jay (Chair)

Mrs Rae Aldous (Exec Headteacher)

Mrs Amanda Ward ( Headteacher) 

Mr Stephen Clarke

Mrs Jacquie Chutchey

Mr Jeremy Rowe

 Mr Mike Chaplin

Mrs Emma Hall

Mrs Mary Corker

Mr John Hughes



Amanda Ward

Amanda Ward is the Headteacher. She joined Grove as a teaching deputy in January 2017 and has been Headteacher since Apil 2017.  She works closely with the Governing Body to ensure that everyone at Grove Primary reaches their full potential.


Stephen Jay

Stephen Jay is the Chair of Governors; he is the chair of the Finance and Premises Committee, also.  Stephen’s term of office will end in 2017.


“I was elected to the Governing Body of Grove in the Autumn of 2014 and then appointed Chair of Governors in March 2016. I am married with two children, Sophie (4) who is in year one and Isaac (1) who hopefully will join Grove when he is older. In my professional life I am a financial adviser working with a global company here in Carlton Colville. I am committed to helping the school and its’ pupils achieve the recognition they deserve.



Stephen Clarke

Stephen Clarke is a parent governor and is the Governor responsible for safeguarding. 







Governors are required to publish any relevant business and pecuniary interests. At this time there are no business or pecuniary interests to publish.

The dates for the Governor's meetings are:


Autumn 2017

FGB- 9/10/17 6 pm

Working Party-  20/10/17 2 pm

FGB- 4/12/17 6pm


Spring 2018

FGB-  19/3/18 6 pm


Summer 2018

FGB- 2/7/18